The Eight-Year-Old Legend Book

by Isabel Wyatt


This collection of stories is based upon tales told by the Buddha to his monks 2500 years ago. Isabel Wyatt’s enchanting retelling conjures up a rich world of eastern legend, ruled by courtly kings and wise men, and populated by brave princes, faithful elephants and cunning monkeys. The stories tell of great adventures and heroes, of danger and courage, and most importantly of how wisdom and thoughtfulness always triumph over selfishness and greed.

This anthology was compiled with children around the age of eight in mind -- children who are embarking on more and more adventures in their own lives, and themselves learning to become clever and brave.

Table of Contents

  • The Prince Who Ate Swords 
  • How Milk-White Flew 
  • The Lame Cat and the Potter 
  • The King’s Friend 
  • The Ape-king 
  • The Sneeze that Won a Wife 
  • Prince Bowman 
  • Monkey Fat 
  • The Lotus Garland 
  • The Boy Who Found Water 
  • The Speech of Beasts 
  • Prince Grit-in-the-Eye 
  • Rats at the Lute 
  • Prince Sun and Princess Moon 
  • Big Sage and Little Sage 
  • The Four Dangers


Age Range: From 7 to 10 years

ISBN: 9780863157134
Publisher: Floris Books
Format: Paperback